PDA

View Full Version : Optimize this SQL!

Emancipator
11-01-2004, 11:37 AM
Was going to post this on my other thread, but it was getting off topic. So here goes. How would you optimize this sql statement to help prevent connection issues. I typically have 2 records per page like this.

mysql_select_db($database_vanEE, $vanEE);
$query_movie_categories = "SELECT * FROM movie_category ORDER BY category ASC";
$movie_categories = mysql_query($query_movie_categories, $vanEE) or die(mysql_error());
$row_movie_categories = mysql_fetch_assoc($movie_categories);
$totalRows_movie_categories = mysql_num_rows($movie_categories);

Thankyou php gurus.

Westech
11-01-2004, 12:00 PM
I'm by no means a mySQL expert. The best advice I can give you might be to make a db backup before you start messing with it, and to try posting in the database forums on Sitepoint, as there are some very knowledgeable people there.

Also, are your pages loading slowly, or are you just getting occasional messages about too many connections? If it's just the connections message, your server may be able to handle the load as is. Your admin may be able to solve the problem just by increasing the number of connections allowed and/or changing the persistent connections setting.

r2d2
11-01-2004, 12:06 PM
I think we need a bit more info. Do you need all the info from each row? What are you doing with the data?

But yes, theres some clever people at Sitepoint, they could probably give you an excellent answer very quick.

Emancipator
11-01-2004, 02:04 PM
all of the info in that sql statement is required. And yeah its to many connections error, so i am stream lining my code to make it load faster as well.

AndyH
11-01-2004, 10:38 PM
Is "category" indexed in your database?

Not much you can can really do ... I am not sure why that query could even be slow, how many rows in the table?

freekrai
11-02-2004, 01:15 PM
First thing I see without seeing more code, is this: