PDA

View Full Version : Introduction and Question

jbiggs77
10-25-2004, 05:58 PM
I have been lurking around for about a month now and thought I should introduce myself to everyone. I am a 22 year old computer consultant in Central Ohio. I have been consulting for about the last two years now and while I really enjoyed it for the first year or so, I have become quite tired of dealing with many of my clients and the associated headaches. I have also come to the realization that my income has pretty much hit a ceiling and is only going to increase linearly with the amount of hours I work.

So, about two months ago I happened to stumble upon Sitepoint and after reading this post (http://www.sitepoint.com/forums/showthread.php?p=934126#post934126) and reading several others by Mr. Beasley, I decided I should give website publishing a try. I have had a business website (http://www.consultbiggs.com) for about a year. I have also just recently created I Help Computers (http://www.ihelpcomputers.com). As you can see, it is still lacking any significant content, but it has been live for less than a week.

I created I Help Computers because it is something I know very well and is something that I enjoy, however, I also realize that there is a lot of competition for this sort of site out there and it's probably not going to make a big profit.

That is why I have come here. I am looking to expand my business opportunities on the web but frankly I am not sure any of the ideas I have are real money makers. I have searched Overture for different keywords and have yet to come up with anything with bids over $10 except for things I can think of people suing over (i.e. Mesothelioma, Asbestos, Car Accident, etc.). I've heard Chris say that travel and health are good topics but all the travel related topics I searched for are fairly low bids. How does everyone go about finding keywords that are relatively low competition and yet pay reasonably well?