PDA

View Full Version : Advertisements in Applications

Breadstick
09-16-2004, 05:23 PM
I know this is a website publisher forum, but you all seem to know a lot about advertising and affiliate programs. I'm a programmer, not a web developer, and I was wondering if anybody knew of an advertisement/affiliate program that would allow placement of advertisements within a multiplayer online video game with about 1000 members logging in daily?

Would something like this generally require a personal contract with an agency?

Thanks

Chris
09-16-2004, 09:06 PM
Games like Utopia that are browser based are ad supported. You might want to clear it with the ad networks before hand, and certainly some, like adsense, might not work, but I wouldn't forsee it being a major issue so long as the content of the game and the proposed placement of the ad are not problematic.

AndyH
09-16-2004, 09:23 PM
All the major networks won't accept you - ones that pay good rates anyhow.

Advertising.com might under a trial contract.
FocusIN probably will.

Google Adsense does work but you should supply a default ad.

Breadstick
09-16-2004, 09:43 PM
Games like Utopia that are browser based are ad supported. You might want to clear it with the ad networks before hand

This game isn't browser based, it's an application. Games by Blizzard all have ads in the lobbies or waiting rooms, I was thinking of doing something like that, but I don't know of any advertisement agencies that would allow it for such a small game.

Google Adsense does work but you should supply a default ad.

From Google Adsense's Program Policies:
"... cannot display our ads, search box, or search results as a result of the actions of any software application such as a toolbar. No Google ad or search box code may be pasted into any software application."

What do you mean by default ad? Just the default style they supply?

AndyH
09-16-2004, 09:47 PM