PDA

View Full Version : Getting a good homepage ranking

Mike
08-01-2004, 04:35 AM
Hi all,

For a new site of mine I want to get a good homepage ranking. I'm not that bothered about the subpages as noone would find them through a search engine anyway.

To go about this would I put links to EVERY page on the site from the homepage? Then link back to the homepage from all the subpages?

Thanks,
Mike

MarkB
08-01-2004, 04:41 AM
Hmm - I would think you link to the homepage from all subpages, but keep the front page link count low? (Not that I'm an SEO expert!:))

r2d2
08-01-2004, 05:07 AM
The optimum method for this would be to link to every subpage from the homepage, then have just one link on each subpage, and that link going back to the homepage.

Mike
08-01-2004, 05:14 AM
The thing is, there's going to be a few hundred links on the homepage. Would it still work?

r2d2
08-01-2004, 05:16 AM
Should do, I know Google recommends having 100 or less, but Chris was saying somewhere its just to guide newbie webmasters, and more than a hundred is fine. Many forums and big news sites have loads more than 100 links on a page.

incka
08-01-2004, 05:28 AM
Mike, you think there isn't much searches for the sub pages but...

bush shootout 135.4 /day
dancing bush 177.0 /day
javanoid 317.3 /day

To just show a few... Plus all the categories get alot of searches.

Mike
08-01-2004, 10:47 AM
Ok, when the site is a month or so old I hope to have around 600-800 subpages. Do you think I should divide these up into categories, then link from the homepage to the categories, the categories to the subpages and homepage, and the subpages to the homepage? If you get all that :p

r2d2
08-01-2004, 12:26 PM
Yep, sounds good.

Mike
08-01-2004, 01:05 PM
Ok doke :)

Thanks guys :)

cameron
08-01-2004, 04:22 PM
Although you didn't say what kind of content it will be, I still don't understand why you think that people wouldn't search for stuff that is in the subpages.

intelliot
08-01-2004, 05:11 PM