PDA

View Full Version : What am I doing wrong?

Doug
07-20-2004, 08:55 PM
Ok, I know I am a very novice web designer and my web sites aren't exactly appealing but I can't seem to make a site that ever catches on. I am starting to get discouraged. I've made a total of about 67 cents from my sites. Does anybody have any suggestions?

MarkB
07-20-2004, 11:01 PM
Look for the niche within the niche :)

(although I can't really talk. I make on average $5 a day!)

chromate
07-21-2004, 04:24 AM
Doug, I think your main problem will be lack of traffic. No traffic = no money.

You've picked some highly competitive topics which will make getting any traffic that much harder. Start smaller and build your way up.

r2d2
07-21-2004, 04:41 AM
Work on some backlinks, and perhaps try some more niche topics as has been suggested.

Also remember that if it was easy, everyone would be doing it.

I have been developing for a fair few months now and am making a coupla dollars a day.

tomek
07-21-2004, 08:07 AM
sorry to say this but your pages don't look very proffessional

Doug
07-21-2004, 10:26 AM
I know my pages don't look that proffessional, no apology needed for saying that tomek, lol. I think that is one of my major problems. I guess I need to spend some real time working on my web design skills before I try to make a site. The originality thing is a problem too. I think of something and think "that would make a good site" then do a google search and find out there is alrealy 4,592,831 other sites about that topic. I hope it's not too late in the game to get into building websites that will give you a little supplimental income.

chromate
07-21-2004, 10:40 AM
It's definitely not to late to get into. I don't think it ever will be too late.