View Full Version : Request for an Interview, thewebhostingcompany

06-06-2004, 06:34 AM
I've recieved two of these identical mailings. I don't know what the guy is after, but I don't think its an interview. He is probably just trying to collect a list of webmasters for marketing purposes or his requests are a thinly disguised attempt to advertise his "business."


As you are the webmaster for online-literature.com, I was wondering if I could take a few moments
of your time to interview you for "Webmaster E-Zine", which gets published online at
http://www.thewebhostcompany.com/ezine and is also emailed to our subscribers on a weekly basis.

The ezine covers all issues related to building, managing, and promoting websites whether they be
big, small, corporate, personal, government, non-profit, etc.

Our readers are always interested in what has worked for other webmasters, and what hasn't.
I'd like good content to publish, and that's why I'd like to interview you. I've gone through the
various search engines and directories looking for a handful of sites that I think would form
the basis for a good interview and yours was one of them. I'd like to get a good cross section of the
web and present some variety in a series of upcoming interviews so I really hope you can help

In exchange for taking the time to be interviewed you would gain exposure for your site to our readers.
Furthermore having your interview published in our ezine and our article bank would serve to increase
your site's link popularity which may give you a bit of a boost in the search engines too.

If you'd like to be interviewed, you can find the questionnaire at

Thank you very much for your time.

Sincerely yours,
Sean Proske
CEO - thewebhostcompany.com

thewebhostcompany.com provides a free branded
article bank with selected hosting packages.
Imagine your visibility to the search engines with
10,000 + pages of keyword rich content on your
site. http://www.thewebhostcompany.com

06-06-2004, 07:02 AM
You gonna do it then?

06-06-2004, 07:22 AM
Sounds like an interview to me, if I was running an webmaster ezine you would be the first person I would wanna interview...

06-06-2004, 08:59 AM
You don't get it.

I got duplicate emails to two of my unrelated webmaster addresses. I think its quite obvious the guy is not really interested in interviews.

06-06-2004, 09:10 AM
They're warning signs, for sure.

06-06-2004, 10:41 AM
Yeah. Now if he had said "As you are the webmaster for websitepublisher.net...." it might be a little different.

The New Guy
06-06-2004, 11:03 AM
1. The links are dead.
2. Why would you have top do a questionnaire to be interviewed?

06-07-2004, 11:38 AM
1. The links are dead.
2. Why would you have top do a questionnaire to be interviewed?
The questionnare is the interview. It's an automated interview process with static questions; they're identical for each interviewee.

I went ahead and filled out the form. No big deal if nothing happens. It might just be a clever way to add some content, really. Dunno. It's down now, however.

The New Guy
06-07-2004, 01:26 PM
I understand but what kind of interview is that? The questions should reflect the person your interviewing, by templating the questions, the owner is making the interviewie (sp?) do all the work. He probably sends a ton of these emails, to try to get people to basicly write his "ezine" for him.

06-07-2004, 06:46 PM
Yes, I'm sure that's exactly what he does. And yes, of course a personalized interview is much better; but I have to give the guy credit, it's not a bad idea. It's workless content, and can be somewhat interesting, I imagine, despite its cookie-cutter nature.

06-17-2004, 02:29 AM
Hi there,

Did a search on google using "thewebhostingcompany" and found this forum with you guys discussing this email invite. thought I'd put in my bit - I yesterday also received 2 emails inviting me to do this interview - which of course you can't do as the website is not accessible.

I think he/they are in the process of moving server as it appears to be a dns change issue as to why we can't access the site. which leads me to believe this is a spam - gathering our info.


The New Guy
06-17-2004, 06:27 AM
Speaking of spam. Gotta love the way your site has a massive a amount of keyword spam, which in 1 second redirects to your main site.

06-17-2004, 08:15 AM
Google will block his site, don't worry newbie...

06-17-2004, 09:08 AM
I get about 1-2 of these requests a week lately.

06-20-2004, 02:12 PM
i think we all get requests like this