PDA

View Full Version : Your .Community - Part 1

MarkB
06-03-2004, 12:09 PM
(originally posted on my blog - thought I'd share it here. Chris, you can move or remove if this is against your wishes)

This may seem a little simplistic, and I'm sure some people will disagree with it :) FWIW, I have been running community-based sites since around 1996, and have also been involved in IRC communities among others. I have run official band communities on behalf of record labels and management companies, as well as my own cluster of communities on UltimateMetal.com (recently sold). I also founded an early penfriends site (no longer online), which netted approx. 3,000 members in its first 6 months, and 2 marriage proposals! ;)

So hopefully I can offer some insight and ego-fullfilling verbiage.

What Is A Community?

In basic terms, a community is a group of people with like-minded interests. This could be the traditional idea of a community, being the population of a town, village, suburb or street. Or, in internet terms, the audience of a website, newsgroup, or mailing list.

Your community would be defined as: the people who like your site.

That is, people who keep coming back; they may on your mailing list, or they may simply have your site bookmarked or remember your URL. People who hit your site once and never return are not part of your community (although there’s potential there - more on that later).

A community is also the way in which your “audience” is harnassed. It could be a mailing list; it could be a forum. It could also be a ’shoutbox’, blog comment page, guestbook, or those who attend live events organised by your website. The idea of community is hard to define in some ways, but easy to nail down in others.