PDA

View Full Version : Help, I'm building my first Amazon AWS site!

snowman
04-20-2004, 08:50 AM
Hi,

First post.......

I am trying to put together Amazon AWS shop using Dan article on this site, but I am having a few problems and I hope someone might be able to point me in the right direction.....

Now I have to admit I am a beginner at this, but I have successfully built one store using Amazon's AWS ( www.gamblingbookshop.net ). However, this parses the response to my XML request using XSLT, and is very basic.

So now I'm aiming a bit higher..............

I have downloaded the four files in Dans article, saved them as text files in Notebook, uploded them to my hosting co and given them .php extensions. I have also downloaded Cash Lite

Problem 1) When I type into my browser "www.mydomain.com/browse.php" it says it cant find Cache Lite , so what does this mean exactly:-

(From Dans article)
save the Cache Lite files to a directory above your web root (?????) and create a separate directory where the actual cached files will be stored.

Problem 2) There must be some hidden/ not mentioned files that I need to create. I know that there is a stylesheet. But what about the index.html file - there has to be one. How does that index file become populated with products from Amazon?

Some advice on these two problems would be very helpful.

Thanks

Ray

GCT13
04-20-2004, 09:46 AM
Hi snowman, I'll try to help you out.

Originally posted by snowman
I have downloaded the four files in Dans article, saved them as text files in Notebook, uploded them to my hosting co and given them .php extensions. I have also downloaded Cash LiteThere are two paths you need to update in your functions file for the Cache Lite to work. Did you make those changes?