PDA

View Full Version : Change domain. 301 redirect



wesware
02-10-2011, 12:07 AM
Hi everybody. I plan to change my domain name soon and wanted some advice on how to handle the 301 redirect that is inevitable. My current domain has respectable SEO value and I want to maintain as much of that as possible. Can anyone advise me on how I should set up my 301 redirect as I am new to the process. I already have the new domain name registered. Thx.

Chris
02-10-2011, 08:06 AM
The easiest way is to use a .htaccess file.

Also, Google webmaster central has a move site feature I would recommend using as well.



RewriteEngine On
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^newdomain\.com$ [NC]
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://www.newdomain.com/$1 [R=301,L]



That will redirect all requests not to your new site, to your new site.

wesware
02-10-2011, 11:42 PM
Thx for the info chris. Another question if I may. Will this code redirect ALL of my current pages that are indexed to the new equivalent page on my new site? I.E. Product pages, category pages, ect. Being that the urls will be the same other than the primary domain name.

wesware
02-11-2011, 12:19 PM
I was researching the code involved in applying the redirect and came across this.

redirect 301 /http://mysite.com/

Being that my change will be the top level domain of my site only and use the same paths and filenames, would this be a better option in the .htaccess file?

Thx.

Chris
02-13-2011, 06:59 PM
not better, just different

wesware
02-16-2011, 12:35 PM
I guess I should have mentioned that my urls are dynamic. What would the code be to properly redirect dynamic urls after my domain change? Thanks.

hosting coupons
03-28-2011, 01:51 AM
You should mentioned that your urls are dynamic. good luck for you.
maybe you can search this question on mywebsite.
contact with me soon.
THx a lot.

OurInternet
02-21-2012, 02:48 AM
You can use 301 redirect without any doubts and SEO harms