PDA

View Full Version : Flash MX 2004 Action Script confusion!!

DTOXX
03-25-2004, 08:40 AM
First, I'll admit that I'm a complete noob when it comes to coding in Flash. Now, here's what's frustrating me - I recently purchased "Flash Advanced" from Peachpit Press so that I could just try to get my hands around Action Script. I just wanted to do something very simple: create a button with a getURL link. The book says that the code for the button should look like this:

button_name.onRelease = function() {
getURL("http://www.myurl.com");
};

But, that only gives me a syntax error which reads:

**Error** Scene=Scene 1, layer=Layer 2, frame=1:Line 1: Statement must appear within on handler

Now, if I use what I suppose would be considered obsolete syntax:

on(release) {
getgetURL("http://www.myurl.com")
}

it works just fine with no errors.

So, what's going on? What's all this "new" Action Script about if it doesn't work?

DTOXX
03-25-2004, 10:57 AM
OK, forget it. I discovered that the code in the book was a FRAME action. Applying it to the frame I wanted allowed it to work properly.

thebillionaire
04-09-2004, 01:00 PM
The first codes work but I think that the only problem is that you may have put the code

" button_name.onRelease = function() {
getURL("http://www.myurl.com");
}; "

inside the buttons action script. you must put it into a frame where the button is located. The other code you had was

"on(release){
getgetURL("http://www.myurl.com")
} "

this will not work because the there is no getgetURL function, but there is a getURL function, so the code should look something like this.

on(release){
getURL("http://www.myurl.com")
}

DTOXX
04-09-2004, 02:45 PM
Thanks, Crusader!

thebillionaire
04-09-2004, 03:26 PM
your Welcome. If you need any more help just ask me.

iKwak
04-16-2004, 11:01 PM
I recently bought Flash 2004 but not enough time to learn and play with it.
Seems to have a high learning curve.
Someday...I'll be able to do some neat stuff.

thebillionaire