PDA

View Full Version : Mapping a domain to blogger?



MissMandy
12-15-2009, 10:48 PM
Can someone help me map a domain to blogger.
Unlike usual hosts where i just need point 2 nameservers this is a bit too complecated for me and i need some help.
I already have the Domain.


First here is what blogger says:
Update the DNS Settings
DNS stands for Domain Name System, and a DNS server determines what site a given address takes you to. So far, you have a domain name but none of the servers on the internet know what to do with it yet. To take care of this, you need to do two things:

Create a CNAME record for your blog's address, which should be a subdomain of the form Example Web Page.
To create a CNAME record for your domain with the DNS, associating your domain with ghs.google.com. The exact procedure for doing this varies depending on your domain registrar, but you can find instructions for many common registrars here. If yours isn't listed, or if you run into other difficulties, you can contact your registrar directly and they'll be able to help you out.
Create 'A' NAME records for your naked domain (blog.com)
Creating A records for your naked domain is important as it allows Google to redirect people who use in your naked domain name (blog.com) to your blog page (Example Web Page). If you do not do this, visitors who leave off the www will see an error page.
There are four separate A records you will create, and can be done from the same control panel you accessed your CNAME records. Simply point your naked domain (example.com, without the 'www') to each of the following IP addresses:
216.239.32.21
216.239.34.21
216.239.36.21
216.239.38.21



Now, here is my host control panel:
DNS host details
Back to DNS

Domain hosts - This facility is for the creation of nameservers only.
Host name IP address
@ [ip] Delete host
* [ip] Delete host
www [ip] Delete host

Update IP address for host
Host name @ * www
IP address(es)


Create a host
Host name .example.com
IP address(es)

The dns nameservers are on a seperate page.

If someone could help me here much appreciated as its beyond my limited knowledge.

Chris
12-18-2009, 06:07 AM
That sounds really really complicated, and I'm not entirely sure how it is supposed to work.

Typically you put in such A settings at the DNS server.

Now... you say your hosts control panel,d on't you mean your registrars? Wouldn't blogger be your host?

MissMandy
12-18-2009, 07:00 AM
Yes, I meant my register, and they wont help me.
Anyway, Ive given up, too complicated, I cant be bothered to waste my time on something so messy. Its up to them to make things simpler.

Chris
12-19-2009, 06:23 PM
Could just install wordpress at a host. Better blog anyways IMO.