PDA

View Full Version : seperate domain for content and forums?

Cloughie
11-15-2008, 07:00 AM
Hi,

I have been running two sites for my content and forums for a good 5 years now.www.wannabebig.com and www.wannabebigforums.com

I am current thick into a full redesign of www.wannabebig.com - new design and article management system.

Page rank on both sites is low, but I am going to change that once I get the new site up. I am going to REALLY focus on building incoming links etc.

I was thinking about pulling the forums back to the www.wannabebig.com domain (i.e /forums) so that everything sites on the one domain which I figure would be better from an incoming links and page rank point of view. Also I find most people just go to www.wannabebigforums.com and never see the sother site which would help with that.

What are the pro's and cons of moving the forums from www.wannabebigforums.com back to www.wannabebig.com/forums?

Chris
11-15-2008, 02:36 PM
Well, Sitepoint did it awhile ago, there are pros and cons as you say.

Almost all of my forums are built off a content site domain, not their own domain, and I think that setup works better, but as you say, you've had it for years, and you will lose incoming links, so it is a risk.

Cloughie
11-16-2008, 02:29 AM
Yeah, I noticed sitepoint pulled it back to sitepoint.com/forums from sitepointforums.com some time ago and this must have been much more risky for them as they are large and probably had a hell of a lot of links going into them. I figured they thought we probably better get it right, take the hit and build on that.