PDA

View Full Version : How to make an out.php script?

Mr. Pink
09-28-2008, 07:53 PM
Hello,

I searched the forums but could not find the exact explanations for what I need. I did find this thread http://www.websitepublisher.net/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=336 and some others, but since I am not a programmer I don't understand what needs to be done, unless every step of the process is described.

Basically, I would like to create a database of outgoing links, and an out.php file, just the same way it is done on this site.

My question is, how is that done?

(I am very good at following instructions, but unfortunately I do need every step of the process explained, sorry...)

Thank you in advance for your help...

PS - This is a great site, by the way. I read about 50% of the articles in the past 2 day, since I joined. Really informative. Thank you, Chris. :)

Chris
09-29-2008, 08:22 AM
Do you understand enough to copy & change a php script?

<?

$db = mysql_connect("localhost", "username", "password");
if (!$db) { echo( "<P>Unable to connect to the " . "database server at this time.</P>" ); exit();}

mysql_select_db("database_name", $db);

$result1 = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM redirect_links where LinkID = '$LinkID'", $db);
if (!$result1) { echo("<P>Error performing query: " . mysql_error() . "</P>");
exit();
}
$numResults = mysql_num_rows($result1);
if($numResults != 0){

while($list = mysql_fetch_array($result1)){
$url = $list[url];
}
}
mysql_free_result($result1);

header("Location: $url");
?>

Mr. Pink
09-29-2008, 11:05 AM
Thanks for looking into this, Chris.

Here is what I did so far.

In my Control Panel, I set up a new MySQL database, gave it a name, set up a user and added that user to the new database. I checked all permissions.

In the script, I changed the "username" "password" and "database_name"
I left "localhost" as is (or am I supposed to change that, too?).